Do you need clarification with Prime Mover?

Do you have question or doubts?

Leave a comment here and get an answer.

6 Replies

  1. Hi, i have try free version of Prime mover. I have a question regarding migrate a multisite’s subsite to standalone install.

    The network activated plugins from my multisite are migrated to new website when i done a restore. Does this plugin provide a features to filter plugins when performing a backup? Especially i don’t want all the network activated to be migrated, because i’ll send the backup to my customer to restore, thanks

    1. Hello Stanley,
      Thanks for the question and for trying out Prime Mover. Yes the Prime Mover Pro version includes a feature to exclude any network activated plugins. This is done on its network administrator settings page. For more details on this feature, please refer to this tutorial.
      This feature works for both multisite and single-site installation. So in case, you also want to exclude plugins from a single-site going out to either another single-site or multisite sub-site. This is also possible.
      Please let me know if you have any more questions. Cheers.

  2. When is it necessary to filter plugins? If a single site is being migrated to a multisite network, what happens if the multisite network has already some or all the single site plugins installed? And if some of the plugins are network activated? And if none of the single site plugins are already installed in the multisite network? Would it be better to ensure that all the single site plugins are already installed and not network activated in the multisite network before proceeding with the migration?

    1. Hi Josep, thanks for the questions. Please refer below for the answers (to my best of my knowledge) 🙂

      • When is it necessary to filter plugins?
      • – this one depends on the functionalities of your plugins activated and the intended usage of that plugin in the target site. For example, say you are migrating from a multisite network to single site. And in the multisite network, you are using a multisite or network only plugin. This plugin is a good candidate for filtering. Otherwise it will be included with the package and it might cause errors in the single site after migration. Or if you are migrating from single site to multisite, there are plugins that won’t work with multisite network. This needs to be filtered as well (if not needed or known to cause errors). Aside from that, there are lots of reasons. For example, you don’t need plugin X anymore in the target site, even though its compatible with the target site.

      • If a single site is being migrated to a multisite network, what happens if the multisite network has already some or all the single site plugins installed?
      • -If you migrate “Single site X” (including its plugins) to multisite; the plugins in the target will be overwritten with the migrated package version. This is for compatibility with the migrated site. For example, single site X requires version 5.0.0 of Plugin X. But Plugin X is still version 4.9.9 in multisite. When Single Site X is migrated, version 5.0.0 of plugin x is automatically installed for compatibility of the migrated site. Version 4.9.9 is deactivated and deleted. If you don’t want plugins to be touched during migration, you can create export that includes only the database and media files.

      • And if some of the plugins are network activated?
      • – Yes, when its network activated, it will still be network activated after plugin. Obviously if it needs to be updated (since a new version is included with the migration), the old version is network deactivated first and then re-installed. And finally network activated the new version.

      • And if none of the single site plugins are already installed in the multisite network?
      • – In this case, Prime Mover simply copies them to the target multisite plugins directory. And then activate it only on the subsites that is being migrated.

      • Would it be better to ensure that all the single site plugins are already installed and not network activated in the multisite network before proceeding with the migration?
      • – You don’t need to worry about this. It is because when a package includes plugins, Prime Mover will migrate all of these plugins (auto-copies them to plugins directory) and then re-activate them based on the original status on the target multisite (if its network activated, its network activated again). If its subsite activated, its activated only for subsites that uses it. Or if that plugin is entirely new to the network, its activated only that newly migrated subsite as well (not to the network or other subsites.)

  3. If I buy a Pro license (i.e. for 4 sites) then I need more sites, I have to buy a new one (i.e. Unlimited site license) or I can upgrade to a new plan an pay only the delta?

    1. Hello Vittorio, thanks for the interest in buying Pro license. Yes you can just upgrade to a new plan. To do this:

      1.) Login to your Freemius buyer account.
      2.) Go to Licenses
      3.) Click the active license you currently purchased (e.g. the 4-sites plan).
      4.) You should see the Upgrade to:
      Upgrade to
      5.) Click Pro-Unlimited-Sites

      That’s it. Once upgraded to unlimited sites – you will only pay the pro-rated adjustment which should be less than if you buy the unlimited license. Please let me know if you have additional questions by contacting us.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *